Day 1 in Ghana

Realised that I had forgotten to take my Malarone tablet (for malaria) as we were running for the plane with the message “Gate Closing” flashing on the board.  Got the the airport early and spent ages looking at the shops, bought an enormous mosquito net from boots, and tried to persuade Sharan to invest in some ear muffs just in case my snoring bothered her.

An elderly Ghanain lady was sitting in my aisle seat with her bags on the middle seat and I managed to get moved as I know only too well how difficult it is for the elderly to travel on a long flight.  (Also, she refused to take off her fur coat and I had visions of me heating up next to her).  Unfortunately, my altruism backfired as the family from hell were behind me in the new seats – Mum and Dad two 20-stoners and a brat who kicked and cried and made a lot of noise all the time.  Having travelled with my own 5 children in the past, I was only too pleased that it was someone else going through hell not me.

Lovely hostesses, “Wall Street Never Sleeps”, “The Social Network” – sat thinking about all the things I had forgotten to bring (business cards, head torch, yellow fever certificate and memory stick) and things had not had time to do before leaving.

“Akwaaba!” Welcome to Ghana. our plane sat on the runway for about 45 minutes, behind another plane, behind a vehicle that had broken down. When we did eventually get in the terminal, our luggage was the last out (a few worried moments thinking it wasn’t coming) and we were met by Richie outside who had done his homework by checking me on Facebook so he knew what I looked like and could spot me immediately.

Gifty had sent her car and driver but because they had to wait longer than anticipated, they got clamped just as we were getting into the car!  We then waited a good 30 mins until they managed to get the clamp off with quite a crowd watching and discussing the dilema.

On arrival, the Crystal Hostel (Sharan kept referring to it before we arrived as the Crystal Hotel and I had to keep emphasising that we were staying at the Hostel,  where the volunteers stay so that we knew exactly what it was like) was full but Seth, the owner, had arranged for us to stay at an overflow hostel just a few minutes away so we arrived well after mid-night and just collapsed into bed.  There did not appear to be a top sheet so we used my beach wrap and a travel towel as a blanket.  We both slept soundly and Sharan assured me that the earmuffs were not needed.

About www.volunteervacations.co.uk

We send gap year students, university students, families, people on Duke of Edinburgh Gold Award and people on career breaks to coach sports, teach and work in orphanages targetting underpriviledged children in South Africa, Kenya, Swaziland and India. New projects coming up in Thailand and Brazil. In Swaziland we offer bespoke rugby coaching placements with the charity Skrum where volunteers (18 ) can take their Level 1 rugby coaching certificate and then travel on to other placements and coach rugby. In India, the placements are suitable for families and undeer 18's are accepted providing they are accompanied by an adult. India is also suitable for Duke of Edinburgh Gold Award. We also offer building renovation and reconstruction in India in July. India placements can be from 2 to 12 weeks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

