VOLUNTEER BLOG IN SWAZILAND: visiting Executioners Rock

21st day – Executioners Rock

Today was another of helping Linda in the Christmas shop. One of the girls that also works in the shop was just frustrating slow at doing everything today I have never seen some take so long to sweep a floor!
The shop still has some unpleasant little visitors but lucky we went to pick and pay and got some DOOM bug spray so the shop has been bug free for a while now. I got given the job of putting the ribbons on the wooden hearts to hang in the window. After all the pretty ribbons were on it, I then had to paint them in different smelling oils, which I thought was so simple and looked and smelled amazing!
The shop now looks so awesome and really is getting me in the Christmas spirit even though it is only October! I have never seen so much glitter in one place before, it is all over the shop all over me and Linda, it’s just everywhere! I took my shoes off for a bit while working and then realised my error, looked at the bottom of my feet and they were just pure glitter! Today we decided to put up some more Christmas trees and the one big Christmas tree we put up, me and Linda have decided that it is evil. When we were putting it up it bite me on the hand! Also, when Little was hanging decorations it caught her dress on it!  After a fun filled day at the shop and officially opening it was time to go home.
Once we had arrived home we quickly prepared for our trip up into the mountains. We got some food and drink and other things for the trip. After getting all the stuff and packing up the car we set off.  I didn’t know where we were going but it all sounded very excited and they said it is beautiful and a lovely place to go.
Once we had done a bit of off road driving,  we got to the entrance of Milwanne game reserve.  We had paid our money (we got in cheaper because they thought we were Swazi because of the number plate!) The drive up was very very bumpy!  Fortunately, we had gone in the big car called the Monster and it certainly is, at no point did it have any trouble even though the road was horrific.
Half way up the mountain we came across a couple and their stuck car.  Linda and I got out to help and Michael wanted us to say he wasn’t getting out because he didn’t help foreign people! (He was joking of course).  I do not know who told them that they could make it up this road in a BMW saloon car but they are very stupid and to be totally honest they did well to even get as far as they did!  After getting them unstuck and on their way we carried on to the top and parked up.
The game reserve was beautiful but we didn’t see that much wildlife on the way up, just a few buffalo.  At the top it was such an amazing view and Linda and Michael told me to go for a walk and go right to the top. Walking up I heard Michael say be careful of snakes to wind me up so I was cautious to where I was standing. Also, I word of advice, do not go hiking while wearing a long dress and sandals, it doesn’t work!  I was holding a drink at the time and a misplaced my foot, fell on my bum and broke the glass!
However, after falling over and picking myself back up I carried on to the top. As I was walking there was a noise of drums in the distance it was very creepy. I could see executioner’s rock now and it was so big!  Linda and Michael told me in the old days they used to throw people off it and if you survived the fall and a certain amount of days in the bush you could go home. (Little bit savage to say the least).
Once I had walked to the top and taken about a million photos of the most amazing view I have ever seen, Linda meet me half way down and said she would come up with me and take a photo.  I got to place a rock on a cool ornament of stones right at the top!  Michael was not impressed that I had fallen over and broken a tumbler! To any future volunteer, NEVER break a tumbler you will never live it down!  While we were on the top, Linda and I worked out we could see their new land and so many other things from that high up.
After taking photos and having a giggle we walked back down and as we were driving out a Dutch family stopped us and asked where executioner’s rock was. Michael asked if they had any plans to do anything and the woman looked very confused, so we showed them and then drove off. We were very impressed as their car looked more like a biscuit tin than a car, so have no idea how it managed to get up to the top!
On our way back down Linda was sure that it was a certain way back to the road. However, it turned out to be the wrong road and she covered it by saying she wanted to show me a different view of the mountain. At this point we were all a bit hungry so had the crisps and continued to drive though the game reserve.
It was so nice at this point as we saw lots of wildlife: there were zebras, impala, buffalo etc.  We carried on and got to a very dodgy looking bridge that I didn’t think we could cross espically not in the monster!  Linda thought we could so drove straight across it and all I could say rhymes with duck, so now all bridges that are scary are called ducks!  A very funny thing that I have noticed is that Michael really likes to make fun of people and freak them out. We were driving and there was a couple walking alongside us in the trees.  Michael asked for my camera pretended to take a photo of them and asked if the man’s stripy shirt was his natural colouring!  The man looked incredibly embarrassed and we all laughed.
Michael and Linda then showed me the main camp next to Sondzela (the backpacker’s place I will be staying for the last week). Me and Linda went in and had a look around. There were monkeys everywhere and Linda had a face-off with one which was very funny and the monkey ran away. After this we went to look at the lake next to the camp and meet some very funny drunk people and had a chat.  Also, I saw a crocodile!  He was just sitting the water no far from where we were!

Finally, we went back and went to the new land to see the horse and watch the sun set. It was very lovely and for the whole evening we just laughed and laughed.

Bethany Neave
(Bethany is doing a rugby coaching placement with the charity SKRUM in Swaziland)
For more details on this and other placements, see out website http://www.volunteervacations.co.uk.  Or send us an email to info@volunteervacations.co.uk or phone on 01483 331551/  07833 208 158.
About www.volunteervacations.co.uk

We send gap year students, university students, families, people on Duke of Edinburgh Gold Award and people on career breaks to coach sports, teach and work in orphanages, work in marine conservation, primates conservation, land conservation, looking after rescued jungle animals, animal welfare, women's empowerment programs (sewing/fashions), men's empowerment programs (carpentry, plumbling, electrics, DIY), medical shadowing (doctors, nurses, midwives and dentists), after schools clubs, reaching out to underprivileged children and adults in South Africa, Kenya, Swaziland, Mozambique, Ghana, Ecuador and The Galapagos, Thailand and India. In Swaziland we offer bespoke rugby coaching placements with the charity Skrum where volunteers (18 ) can take their Level 1 rugby coaching certificate and then travel on to other placements and coach rugby. In India, the placements are suitable for families and undeer 18's are accepted providing they are accompanied by an adult. India is also suitable for Duke of Edinburgh Gold Award. We also offer building renovation and reconstruction in India in July. India placements can be from 2 to 12 weeks.
This entry was posted in AIDS in Africa, AIDS in Swaziland, Gap Year, Gap Year in Swaziland, SKrum, Uncategorized, Volunteer rugby coaching abroad, volunteer rugby coaching in Swaziland and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

